The Sweet Fit Vegan

My adventure's in transforming me from top to bottom, inside and out.

I’m Sorry… You Think I Can do WHAT?!

on January 14, 2015

Sooooo… about a month after VegFest 2014 in Buffalo, Ny, I got this random Facebook message from a girl, who I assume was at the event, asking me if I wanted to take part in this Beachbody Challenge, that “I could pick the workout” and “They work miracles” and yada yada yada…. I explained that I was a stay at home mom and starting to really get lift off with my baking business (I mean like space shuttle lift off!!) and really didn’t think I had the time.  She told me that it was only a half hour each day, and if I didn’t like it I could get a refund.  “Yeah… okay.  Let me try …. PIYO!” It sounded fun. all about stretching, some strength workouts, but nothing too crazy for me.

PiYo_LOGO_low_res

It took about a week to get to me- cool!  Quick shipping!  I read through what seemed like a gazillion booklets “What to Measure”, “Your before and after”, “Here’s what you should eat”, “Drink this stuff too”… so much stuff.  So, my husband helped me measure- 145 lbs and a total of 169 inches.  (Determined by measure your arms, chest, waist, hips, and thighs, then added together.)  Not too bad… I was down close to 30 lbs, feeling good.  So, I did was any first time exerciser would do:  I popped in the first dvd with the first workout, sat down with my bag of chips and watched first.  (Crazy I know, but I didn’t want to have to stop with EVERY move to find out how to do it… chips were just a bonus!)  The next day I put it back in and threw on my big bottom capris and started doing the moves.  Before I know it, my kids wanted to join in.  “Hey mom, that looks fun.  Can I do it too?” <enter confused look>  “Of course you can guys!”  Before you know it, my son was telling me not to do Piyo until he got home from school.  Even went to school telling his new teacher that his mom is a vegan, and bakes cupcakes, and does Piyo.  Not that she would know what the heck that was by the sound of it!  But he was uber excited.

PiyoKids

My kids LOVING Piyo!

Two weeks later, both of us had completely forgotten was Piyo even was, the box set was shoved on the bottom shelf to the back of the TV Stand and I started filling more baking orders!  Go figure…. Have to make the money first, right?!

So a few months go by, a few events, many cupcakes and birthday cake orders, and here comes the holiday season.  I know this holiday season will be both difficult and easy for me.  Easy, because I know that I will not be indulging in a giant Thanksgiving meal that would leave me sitting on the coach in my fat pants!  Also difficult, because this would be my first holiday- the only vegan- and everyone looking at me like “Eww.. what IS that!?”  So, I had prepared myself for questions and stares.  However, holiday season also means tight budge season.  Christmas shopping gets down to the wire, and I always make sure the kids’ mouths have food in them before mine.  So, over the holiday season I shed another couple pounds- nothing drastic.

My very first Vegan Thanksgiving!!!

My very first Vegan Thanksgiving!!!

My husband works in retail, which, if you’ve ever done it, can be very stressful for someone no matter what the position they work.  He’s been in retail since his first job, and it doesn’t get any easier.  So he had been voicing that he wanted to get a degree/certification to become a personal trainer. (He goes to the gym ‘religiously’ it makes me sick!) So I hooked him up with an acquaintance of mine, that I happened to meet at VegFest, and who also happened to be a Fitness Coach through Beachbody.  He asked a few questions, watched a few videos, but sadly didn’t feel it was for him.  He’s more of a pumping iron in front of a big mirror type of guy!  But then one day, he says to me, “I think you should be a Beachbody Coach.  You know all the right people, and you’ve lose a lot of weight since cleaning up your diet.  I think you’d be good at it.”

<enter confused face>

So I pondered it for a while (more like a day or two) and asked a friend some questions.  I decided I would give it a shot, and if I didn’t like it, would just give it up.  So, two days before New Years, I signed up to be a Team Beachbody Coach.  I quickly learned that it wasn’t just about selling fitness product to people who wanted to be active or clean up their eating.  It stretched way deeper than that, and I feel like I’m learning more and more every day.  I can’t wait to sit down with my first client and help them change their lives for the better!

Until Tomorrow… Live Healthy, Be Happy!

Get the latest from Lotus HERE

Leave a Reply

